Fall!

(Originally posted on Tiny Girl Eats at tinygirleats.wordpress.com)

It’s finally fall.  It’s finally getting chilly.  I can finally drink and eat pumpkin spice EVERYTHING without being judged by random strangers (BME still judges me without abandon).  As such, I am introducing a new category: PINTEREST TRUE: a section where I will attempt all of those amazing “cooking hack” recipes on Pinterest and inform you, my small pool of readers, of the results.  To start us off, I made super easy Gluten Free Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins!  Mine came out a bit dense and not fully cooked in the middle (which I was fine with since there were no eggs in the recipe), so maybe try to add a little water to thin out the dough.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
Makes 12 muffins
Ingredients:
1 box gluten free cake mix (I used Betty Crocker Yellow Gluten Free Cake mix)*
1 14.5 oz can pumpkin puree (I use Libby’s for everything pumpkin related)
2 tsp vanilla extract*
.5 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

*Check your cake mix box when using GF rather than regular.  The Pinterest recipe originally called for a box of cake mix (not GF) so I compared the ingredients needed for both (oil, water, eggs, etc).  The only difference between them was that the GF mix required 2 tsp of vanilla extract.  So I figured the recipe should still work using a GF mix,  I can just add the vanilla extract.

Instructions:
– Preheat the oven according the box’s instructions and grease two 6-cupcake pans.
– Pour the dry mix into a bowl.  Add the can of pumpkin and vanilla extract (if needed).  Mix, making sure to scrape the sides of the bowl.  Be careful when you mix, it takes a little bit (my arm was tired afterwards) and the dry mix kept poofing up into my face and all over the oven I was mixing on top of.  Once the mix and pumpkin are thoroughly mixed, add a little water if the dough seems a bit thick (mine was and I will add a little water next time).  Then stir in the chocolate chips.
– Spoon the mix into the greased cupcake pans; bake according to the box.
– Enjoy!

Minus the density of the cupcakes (and that they were not all the way cooked through), the recipe came out GREAT!  They were a delicious mix of pumpkin and gooey chocolate.  I am glad the recipe only yielded 12 because we ate them continuously until they were gone.

Happy fall! – TGE

Leave a Reply

