Gluten-Free Egg & Spinach Quiche w. Almond Flour Crust

(Originally posted on Tiny Girl Eats at tinygirleats.wordpress.com)

Original recipe: http://cookieandkate.com/2013/arugula-and-cremini-quiche-with-gluten-free-almond-meal-crust/. I made it very similarly with small substitutions (spinach ins tread of arugula; no mushrooms).

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

INGREDIENTS:
– Kerrygold butter
CRUST:
– 2 cups of almond flour
– 3 cloves of garlic “minced” into small chunks (I’m not good at mincing. #sorrynotsorry)
– A couple shakes of dried sage
– A couple shakes of dried oregano leaves
– 2 tablespoons water
– 1/3 cup of olive oil
EGG QUICHE PART:
– 6 eggs (I did 3 eggs, 3 egg whites)
– Goat cheese and aged cheddar (I don’t have mesaurements because these were just random hunks of cheese in my fridge I wanted to get rid of)
– Couple shakes of red pepper flakes
– 1 defrosted block of spinach

 

PREPARATION:
In case you didn’t do it when you read it at the top, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Chop some plain or herbed Kerrygold butter into three squares and pop onto a cast-iron skillet/glass pyrex pan.

Put the pan with butter into the preheating oven; after the butter has melted some, take the pan out and rub butter around in the bottom and on the sides of the pan.

CRUST: mix together all of the dry ingredients in a bowl; add the wet ingredients; mix it all together!
– 2 cups of almond flour
– 3 cloves of garlic “minced” into small chunks (I’m not good at mincing. #sorrynotsorry)
– A couple shakes of dried sage
– A couple shakes of dried oregano leaves
– 2 tablespoons water
– 1/3 cup of olive oil

Spoon the crust mix into the buttered pan, smoosh out so it fills the entire pan and up the sides. Cookie + Kate stated go 1 1/2” up the sides, but my crust mix did not smoosh that far up the sides. I would say about a pinky nail or less amount.

Cook the crust at 400 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes. Mine took 20 minutes but we have one of those gas stoves that takes forever to catch and then PHOOSH! You are sketching your eyebrows back on for 3 months.

EGG QUICHE PART:
– 6 eggs (I did 3 eggs, 3 egg whites)
– Goat cheese and aged cheddar (I don’t have measurements because these were just random hunks of cheese in my fridge I wanted to get rid of)
– Couple shakes of red pepper flakes
– 1 defrosted block of spinach

Whisk together the 3 eggs, a scoop of herbed goat cheese and a few slices of aged cheddar, and some shakes of red pepper flakes.

Spinach: are you supposed to cook spinach? If you are used to cooking spinach, do that. I didn’t — I stuck the spinach block in the microwave semi-opened, on papertowels on a plate for 30 seconds; kept doing that until its completely thawed. Then I put the spinach on a strainer and pressed down on it with paper towels until most of the wetness/spinach water is gone. Then I mixed it in with the eggs.

Then pour this mixture over the crust. Then whisk together the 3 egg whites and pour over the spinach. You could mix this all together, you could not even add the extras. I felt there wasn’t enough eggs given the entire spinach block so I added those egg whites on top.

Then cook for 30 minutes at 400 degrees or until the center is firm. I pulled mine out with like 30 seconds to go. It had some liquid bubbling up along the sides of the pan but that went away as it cooled.

I cut it into 8 peices, it was easy peasy to cut. Ate a piece as soon as I could, put some Chalula hot sauce on it and loved myself.

BEST PART: Full stomach and no shooting pains. =]

Delicious. Make it. Love it.

Leave a Reply

