Settled.

(Originally posted on Tiny Girl Eats at tinygirleats.wordpress.com)

I apologize for not posting sooner.  I was really trying to get back on a posting regular schedule, then the bar and moving across the country occurred.  However, given my recent unemployment status and terrible job market, I now have tons of spare time to work out, cook, and perfect my cover letter and resume writing skills.  Joy.  As such, I figured it would be the PERFECT time to try and make something out of these random ramblings.  Also, I have a recipe!

So this dish came together a few nights ago when I was really craving something with tomato sauce. Warning now: I love sauce.  So there will be a ton of sauce recipes here.  #sorrynotsorry  I call this (very imaginatively) Chicken & Tomato Sauce.  Again, sorry, I really don’t have a name for this.  You’ll see.

CHICKEN & TOMATO SAUCE
INGREDIENTS:

– 2 tbsp or so of olive oil
– 1 defrosted pack of boneless, skinless chicken breast tenderloins (containing 6-8 tenderloins)
Optional: 3 chicken sausages, sliced down the middle and cut into 8 bite size pieces (we used Aidell’s Chicken & Apple — I only added it because BME likes more meat, less sauce and I didn’t defrost a second chicken pack)
– 8 oz tomato sauce (I use Hunt’s because they are typically 10/$10)
– 14.5 oz stewed tomatoes (again, Hunt’s)
– 4 cloves of garlic, as finely chopped as you can
– 1 orange bell pepper, diced*
– Dried Italian herbs (I used rosemary, parsley flakes, garlic-onion powder, salt and black pepper)

*You can use whatever bell peppers you like.  I used to eat green peppers liked it was my job but have found lately that they upset my stomach too much.  You could also add diced white/yellow onion but again, hurts my stomach.  For less crunchy/more tomato sauce-y veggies, sauté them and drain all the excess oil before adding them to the sauce.

INSTRUCTIONS:
– Put 2 tbsp olive oil in a large pan, swish it around a bit, then drop in the cloves of garlic. Heat (keep an eye out and don’t burn the garlic).
– Once the pan is hot, add the chicken and sausage pieces and brown well.
– Once the meat is done, add the stewed tomatoes, tomato sauce, pepper, and dried herbs.
– Leave the pan on medium heat and bring the mix to a low bubbling.  Once bubbling, turn the heat down and let the sauce simmer uncovered a couple hours (mine only ended up simmering for about an hour and a half).
– Stir every 30 minutes or so.  If anything is sticking, the heat is too high; turn down a bit more.
– Check the meat after about an hour to ensure they are cooked through and if the meat cuts easily.  If not, keep on for a bit longer.

Ours turned out delicious, BME had more than one serving!  The chicken meat could be parted with only a fork and the sauce/stewed tomatoes thickened up a bit.  I even had a bit for breakfast the next morning.  The only thing I could think to add would be a thick and hearty gluten free loaf of bread.  However, I am still on the search for such a perfect loaf.  If you can have gluten, by all means, have this over some spaghetti.  YUM.  Or if you are gluten-free, use quinoa spaghetti or other bf-alternative.  I bet it would even taste good over some rice.

Leave a Reply

